K9academy


HomeCalendarFAQSearchMemberlistRegisterLog in

 

 Year-Round School. - Your Opinion.

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
Author Message
xXEvilMistressxX
Moderator
Moderator
avatar

Posts : 269
Reputation : 45
Join date : 2009-10-01
Location : PA

PostSubject: Year-Round School. - Your Opinion.   Tue Oct 27, 2009 1:54 pm

So I was reading the newspaper front cover when a particular title caught my eye. "Government wants children to go to school all year." First words that came to my mind was Thank God I will be graduated in a few months. What is your opinion on this? Do you think its right to have children go to school all year just because our country's education is so far behind?

I feel like its not right to punish the kids for the governments fault and lack of organization. I feel like if they pass this law, the rate of high school drop outs till sky rocket and our country will be even worse then it is now. I feel like the problem is the lack of important courses aren't being put out there. I think if they want our country to get back on track they need to stop pushing "Shakespeare" and start pushing grammar, spelling and writing skills which is mostly stopped in the fifth grade. I know most of my friends only have a fifth grade spelling education. Quite sad...and I feel like we should eliminate unimportant math like Geometry and Algebra which isn't needed, where as basic math and how to balance check books and manage money should be taught before anything. Our local college did a pool to see how many of their students actually knew how to manage a check book and 1/10 students didn't know how to where as they knew more about algebra or geometry. I feel that students should know those basic subjects before high school where then they can choose their own courses like algebra, mythology and so forth. I think the saddest of this whole situation is parents are for this so they don't have to deal with their kids all summer. It might seem that way to parents but school all year might make the kids meaner, a lot more depressed too. People are so selfish. Anyway, what are your thoughts on this?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Steven_L
Admin
Admin
avatar

Posts : 1628
Reputation : 120
Join date : 2009-09-28
Location : Southern California, USA

PostSubject: Re: Year-Round School. - Your Opinion.   Tue Oct 27, 2009 3:52 pm

I personally don't think that it would be such a bad idea. Compared to the number of students that don't really actually do anything with their vacation, the number of students that get part time jobs, help their parents, or do vacation homework is relatively low.

In other countries they have school even on saturdays and much longer hours than we do and they are prospering, so I don't really think that the number of highschool drop outs will increase.

I do agree that we should be learning more life skill courses like how to do taxes, balance a check book, and learning how to save money and not spending it the second we get it. Those kind of things would better the economy and helps millions of graduating students.

All in all, I just think we should all be thankful for the school we have. Many students and parents seem to take it for granted. In many parts of the world, kids can only DREAM of going to school and really wish they could. So we should be more thankful for what we have rather than being nit-picky about them.

_________________


For more information on your furry companion visit K9Domain!
http://k9domain.web.officelive.com/default.aspx
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://k9domain.web.officelive.com
xXEvilMistressxX
Moderator
Moderator
avatar

Posts : 269
Reputation : 45
Join date : 2009-10-01
Location : PA

PostSubject: Re: Year-Round School. - Your Opinion.   Wed Oct 28, 2009 6:41 pm

Well tooo if schools all year, lower tourists and then means less jobs and new people in towns. Will be loss of money, hardship will set back in for America. Because school all summer, then no summer break so no trips. Everyone would be loosing business they gain in the on season.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Betterdog4u
Moderator
Moderator
avatar

Posts : 1139
Reputation : 222
Join date : 2009-10-19
Location : Eastern Iowa

PostSubject: Re: Year-Round School. - Your Opinion.   Wed Oct 28, 2009 7:57 pm

My neighbor's daughter is a teacher in Colorado where they have YRC. They really like it because they have 2-3 weeks between quarters and still have holidays off.

Think of YRC's as practice for adult life. After being out for 25 years, Id love to go back to school ... It would be a "cake walk" compaired to real life!!! cheers :face:

_________________
- Michael -

Full of Life ... and Herself - Visit Patchs' Website
My Best Friend & Faithful Companion - Visit Neka's Memorial Website
My Little Buddy for 15+ Years - Visit Chip's Memorial Website

Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.ABETTERDOG4U.com
Steven_L
Admin
Admin
avatar

Posts : 1628
Reputation : 120
Join date : 2009-09-28
Location : Southern California, USA

PostSubject: Re: Year-Round School. - Your Opinion.   Wed Oct 28, 2009 8:19 pm

Well it would definitely mean no long vacations... That is a point to consider but if, for instance, there was a two week vacation then there could be vacations. Having all those set back a theory and a possibility but then again we have to remember that its not happening in places where they have year round schools...which means that they must be doing something right.lol.

Hahaha yep, one could definitely look at year round school as practice for life! There are very few jobs that will give you 2 months off for summer! Sad

_________________


For more information on your furry companion visit K9Domain!
http://k9domain.web.officelive.com/default.aspx
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://k9domain.web.officelive.com
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Year-Round School. - Your Opinion.   

Back to top Go down
 

Year-Round School. - Your Opinion.

View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum: You cannot reply to topics in this forum
K9academy :: Miscellaneous Forums :: General Chat -
Forum create on Forumotion | © phpBB | Free forum support | Contact | Report an abuse | Free forum